I’m Here… Now What?

Hello beautiful people of the world, and welcome to my blog!

So for those of you that don’t know my name is Jordan Smith-Martinez and I am a 3rd year zoology student at Oregon State University (Go Beavs!). At this point in my life I have realized that things are changing, and though they are wonderful changes they still scare me to death because becoming an adult and being on my own is scary to me. All of my life I have struggled to figure out who I am and what I stand for, and though I am starting to figure it out it comes at a time of increased responsibility and overall stress.

As I figure out the rest of my story I feel it is important to keep track of how I got to where I am now, and how I grow in the future. My past has been good. My extended family is unnecessarily dysfunctional (Which I am sure you will all learn more about later), but I was raised by my strong independent mother and my loving step-dad. They are wonderful role-models and I am constantly trying to make them proud because of all they have done to support me. It is because of this that I applied for an internship abroad for the fall 2017 term, and I GOT ACCEPTED! As it is looking I will be working at an otter conservation institute in Brazil next fall and I couldn’t be more thrilled! Working with otters is without a doubt my dream job and I have always wanted to travel so this opportunity means the world to me. But, as I mentioned, change is scary so I do have some reservations about going, but I won’t let that stop me from taking advantage of this wonderful opportunity.

This blog will allow my to record my progress preparing for and experiencing this whole internship as well as, hopefully, being a resource for future students that get this opportunity.

Anyways, long story short, I hope you all enjoy reading about my experience attempting to be on my own in a foreign country, and you will probably learn a lot about me real fast!

Much love,

JSM

Leave a Reply

